Sheboygan A's Baseball

Renovation Project Information
Team Awards Handed Out at Annual Dinner

Team Awards Handed Out at Annual Dinner

Posted: January 08, 2017

Wyatt Olson, who led the Sheboygan A's in batting average (.385), runs scored (39) and hits 37, was voted on by his teammates as the 2016 Sheboygan A's MVP. Olson was presented with his award Saturday night at the team's annual awards banquet, held this year at the Elk's Club in Sheboygan. Olson also took home the leading hitter award.

Olson, who spent his first two collegiate seasons at Indian Hills Junior College (NJCAA), will now head off to Niagara University (NCAA Division One). He was named to the Wisconsin State League second-team and the Northeastern Wisconsin Baseball League first-team.

UW-Whitewater alum Eric Schmitz, who went 7-1 on the mound with a 2.23 ERA was voted the team's Most Valuable Pitcher. He led the pitching staff in games started (10), complete games (three), innings pitched (60.2) and strikeouts (78).

Team RBI leader and backstop Taylor Grimm (UW-Oshkosh) was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year. Grimm appeared in 51 games for the A's, mostly behind the plate. In addition to his stellar defense, Grimm finished second on the team in home runs with four to go along with his team-leading 42 RBI.

Rounding out the team awards was Harry Steldt and Weston Nelson. Steldt, a former UW-Stevens Point Pointer, and Nelson, a current Pointer, took home the Sine Qua Non and Manager's awards respectively. The Sine Qua Non award, presented by General Manager Denny Moyer, is given annually to the player who is "an essential ingredient; a thing that is absolutely necessary". The Manager's Award, presented by skipper Derek Loomans, was given to Nelson for demonstrating the dedication, spirit, perseverance and team concept that embodies the Sheboygan A's.

The Sheboygan A's are members of the Wisconsin State League and Northeastern Wisconsin Baseball League. The A's have helped develop more than 41 players that have reached professional baseball, including 2002 World Series Champion Jarrod Washburn (Anaheim Angels). All Sheboygan A's home games are played at Wildwood Baseball Park in Sheboygan. Connect with the A's on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

comments powered by Disqus